Looking Back At 2020

The year 2020 was a year that nobody expected. I think many of us were glad to be rid of 2019. 2020 was supposed to be a new year with the promise of good things to come. Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case. Instead, Covid-19 hit the world and caused a pandemic that we are still dealing with today. I’m not going to go into all the details about Covid, but rather, I want to focus on the good things that happened for me in 2020.

In the beginning of the year, the positive thing that stands out most to me is that my family and I got rid of a person in our lives that was causing a lot of negativity, and by a lot, I mean severe. Cutting them out of our lives was truly a good start to the year for us.

My most favorite part of 2020 was that my husband, two sons, and I bought motorcycles and started riding together with my father. I had never ridden a motorcycle before. I’ve been a passenger on them throughout my life, but never had the desire to have my own. My father, who has rode motorcycles since he was young, worked with me all summer, teaching me how to ride. Not only did I learn something new, something monumental in my life, but my relationship with my father became closer. It is nice to have something in common that we can do together.

I have traveled and been to places that I’ve not been to before here in my home state. We have taken several bike rides. My favorite ride was on Labor Day, we rode up around the thumb. I’ve not been around the thumb like that before. The weather was perfect. We rode 290 miles round trip. I was tired in the end, but the experience was a blast.

I spent a lot of time with my immediate family in 2020, more than I’ve done in recent years. I feel like 2020 was a busy year for me despite the pandemic. Busy in a good way. Many weekends playing Flip Uno with my family, or other card/board games. I have had so much fun. When hair salons opened back up, we had a girls day and went to get haircuts and color. It was such a good time. I also got to see family that I’ve not seen in a while. I’ve been trying to reconnect with my extended family.

Perhaps due to the pandemic and having been socially closed off to the rest of the world, I started doing more video chats. Normally that’s not something I do, but it’s so much better to do with the people I cannot see often due to long distance, or those who are sick.

So, despite the initial fear, frustration, and annoyance of the pandemic, and all of its limitations, and the deaths of so many, the year, for me, was not so bad when I think of the good things that have happened, too. I hope that everyone has had a little something good come from such a hard time. All too often we focus on the things that bring negativity into our lives. These are the sorts of things that stick out from the rest, but as with all things, there must be balance.

I hope that everyone that has had to cope with sick loved ones, suffering, death, and all other hardships in 2020, has had at least one positive thing that has happened to or for them. Sometimes it can be hard to see the silver lining in things, but they are there, if you only look hard enough.

Leave a comment